​​St. Dominic de Guzman founded the Dominican Order, the Order of Preachers in 1206.  The order was approved by Pope Honorius III in 1216. The Dominican Laity is made up of men and women who, through the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, live according to the spirit and charism of St. Dominic. The Rule for Lay Fraternities of St. Dominic states, “As members of the Order, they share its apostolic mission, by study, prayer, and preaching in keeping with their state as members of the laity.”

The three mottoes of the Dominican Order express the true work of the Order.

             LAUDARE - To Praise God;  Benedicere - To Bless Our Lord in Contemplative prayer,

                                    Vocal Prayer, and Eucharistic Adoration;  Praedicare - To Preach His Truth

             VERITAS -  ​meaning Truth.  The work of the Dominican is the study of the Truth of Christ

                                    and  to preach the Gospel of Christ.

             CONTEMPLARI ET CONTEMPLATA ALIIS TRADERE - to contemplate, and to  

                                    give to others the fruit of contemplation.  


Welcome to the St. Albert the Great Chapter of the Dominican Laity Website!


Above the shield a star was placed, this reminds us of the bright star which was seen shinning on St. Dominic's forehead during his Baptism.  Around the badge are placed the words "Laudare  -  Benedicare  -  Praedicare", meaning to Praise, to Bless, to Preach.  This is one of the mottoes of the Order.

 Dominican Laity

St. Albert the Great Chapter